Skip to content ↓
St Margaret's-at-Cliffe Primary School

St Margaret's-at-Cliffe Primary School


Chair of Governors

Mrs Helen King

c/o St Margaret’s - at -Cliffe C.P. School
Sea Street
St Margaret’s -at-Cliffe
CT15 6SS

The Governors can be likened to non-executive directors. They are drawn from a variety of areas to represent various views of the community and are expected to be the ‘critical friend ‘ of the school. They are appointed for four years to help make decisions on school policy. Governors meet at least once a term and take a consistent and personal interest in the school. 

Governors are appointed to help to:

  • work with staff to produce, monitor and update the School Improvement Plan
  • decide what is taught, in conjunction with the National Curriculum
  • agree targets in relation to learning
  • set standards of behaviour
  • interview and select staff
  • decide how the budget is spent
  • maintain premises
  • ensure the Health and Safety Regulations are met
  • ensure staff have continuing professional development

School Governors cannot act individually, they can only make joint decisions after discussion.

The Governing Body is organised as follows:-

12 Governors consisting of:-

  • 1 Headteacher
  • 1 Staff member
  • 1 Local Authority appointment
  • 7 Co-opted (appointed based on skills audit)
  • 2 elected Parents

St Margaret’s-at -Cliffe Governing Body

Chair of the Governors:

Vice-Chair of Governors:

Mrs Helen King

Mrs Shaheen Falconbridge

Ex-officio Executive Head Teacher: Ms Helen Comfort
Staff Governor: Miss Lucy Brett
Parent Governors:

Mr Jason Curry


Co-opted Governors:

Mrs Shaheen Falconbridge

Mrs Helen King

Mrs Nicola Birt

Mrs Shelagh Vines

Mr Matthew Lamprell

Mr Jack Stewart


Local Authority: Vacancy
Clerk to the Governors: Mr Ronald Dale

Parent governors must have a child at the school and are elected by the parents.

Further information regarding the Governing Body can be found in the documents below.